Ed Miliband unveils Shadow Cabinet

Alan Johnson is the new Shadow Chancellor, with Ed Balls shadowing the Home Office and his wife Yvette Cooper becoming Shadow Foreign Secretary.

Source: Mark Hakansson/Mousetrap Media.

Douglas Alexander is the new Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary and John Denham has been handed the Business, Innovation and Skills brief.

Angela Eagle has become Shadow Chief Secretary to the Treasury.

Yvette Cooper, former Work and Pensions Secretary, topped the list of candidates voted for by Labour MPs and was one of eight women elected to the Shadow cabinet. Under Labour party rules the party had to elect at least six female members.

Diane Abbott, a runner in the party’s recent leadership election, was not among those elected to the Shadow Cabinet. (article continues below)

The announcement comes after Jack Straw, former home secretary, criticised the election of the Shadow cabinet in a report in the Daily Telegraph.

He says: “I survived and prospered under this system for 10 years, but I tell you, it is barking mad, for arithmetical reasons as well, it is a daft system.

He says the system ends up delivering a team of which around a third are “incapable”.

Ed Miliband, Labour leader, says: “Together, this new generation of Labour will work together to reject the pessimism of this coalition government as we set out our vision of what Britain can achieve.”

Baroness Warsi says: “For those expecting a ’new generation’, it is surprising that the [shadow cabinet] all served in Gordon Brown’s Government.”

Here is a full list of the Shadow roles:

  • Chancellor: Alan Johnson
  • Home Office: Ed Balls
  • Foreign Office and Women and Equalities Minister: Yvette Cooper
  • Education: Andy Burnham
  • Justice: Sadiq Khan
  • Work and Pensions: Douglas Alexander
  • Business Innovation and Skills : John Denham
  • Health: John Healey
  • Communities and Local Government: Caroline Flint
  • Defence: Jim Murphy
  • Energy and Climate Change: Meg Hillier
  • Leader of the Commons: Hillary Benn
  • Transport : Maria Eagle
  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury: Angela Eagle
  • Defra: Mary Creagh
  • Cabinet Office: Liam Byrne
  • Culture: Ivan Lewis
  • Olympics: Tessa Jowell
  • Northern Ireland: Shaun Woodward
  • Scotland: Ann McKechin
  • Wales: Peter Hain