MPs rubber-stamp members of Budget responsibility committee

The Treasury select committee (TSC) has rubber-stamped the appointment of professor Stephen Nickell and Graham Parker to become members of the Budget responsibility committee (BRC).

Andrew Tyrie
Andrew Tyrie

The pair were grilled by the committee yesterday to ensure they had the competence and independence required of the roles, using new powers given to the committee by Chancellor George Osborne.

Andrew Tyrie, the chairman of the TSC, says: “I congratulate both Professor Stephen Nickell and Graham Parker on their appointments. Both have been appointed after the welcome extension of the Committee’s powers to veto the appointment and dismissal of BRC members. (article continues below)

“We accelerated the appointment process for both Professor Stephen Nickell and Graham Parker to ensure the OBR is up and running as soon as possible. In future, we will delay appointments to the BRC if we are given insufficient time by the Treasury to conduct such hearings.”